Russia bans Canadian journalists from the country

Journalists were among 61 Canadians sanctioned by the Russian government and banned indefinitely from entering the country. 

The Russian government said in a statement that the sanctions and travel bans were a retaliation for sanctions Canada has placed on Russians in response to the Feb. 24, 2022 invasion of Ukraine. 

Among the 61 Canadians on the list, published on April 21, 2022, nine are reporters, media executives or columnists, including journalist and columnist Terry Glavin, Tyee contributing editor Michael Harris, president and CEO of CBC/Radio-Canada Catherine Tait, Globe and Mail senior international correspondent Mark MacKinnon and Globe and Mail editor-in-chief David Walmsley.

Many news organizations including the CBC had already suspended reporting in Russia in March when the Russian government announced a new law that threatened jail time for anyone publishing independent journalism contrary to the Kremlin’s official line on the war in Ukraine.